Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

September 20, 2001 - 1:28 p.m.

The Quote for the Day:
"It's a Revolution, dammit! We have to offend somebody!"John Adams, 1776

I'm spending a little time while my son naps catching up on the news. There's a group of British actors calling for the leaders of the world to back down from the terrorists actions in the US because "will not rescue any victims of September 11." They conclude that we "must make war, but on poverty."

Actors.

I used to think like that. It baffles me now, but I really believed that you could easily solve conflicts with lots of cash and "understanding" - the same tactic kids on a playground use when the school bully takes their lunch money every day. Give 'em what they want and they'll leave you alone - until tomorrow.

What really riles me is the bits of news here and there about the flag. I've been very proud to see my friends and neighbors flying the American flag. All too often it's been folded up in the closet somewhere, as if we were ashamed to fly it except on special occassions. Stores are sold out of them all over the place, which makes me wonder why I read, from time to time, articles from reporters or editors about the "divisive statement" made by "Old Glory." There are people out there stomping a foot and crying that it "represents oppression" and is "arrogant."

These are people who want to deny us pride in our own country, lest we "offend" someone.

And you know what - I'm offended.

The first member of my family to come to America arrived in Jamestown as an indentured servant. Many more came - all poor and yearning to be free. The soil of Virginia cradles the blood and bones of my ancestors who died for it and for their freedom. They fought for it as close to home as Yorktown and Marye's Heights and as far away as trenches in France. My sitting here in front of this computer, typing what's on my mind with no fear of much more than being flamed in my guestbook, is a benefit reaped from their efforts and I will not spurn that by packing away the flag of the country for which they bled and died.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!