Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

September 25, 2001 - 9:53 p.m.

This week is nature's little way of making me rethink having more children.

It's cold and flu season already and Zack has gotten off to a terrific start - the mother of all colds. Low grade fever, runny nose, watery eyes, cranky attitude... and to boot, his eye teeth are cutting through. Mom told me he'd be getting all his teeth at one time. I laughed. Never laugh at your mother.

Now's she's two and a half hours up I-64 and I'm stumbling around on a max of maybe four hours of sleep - interrupted. Mike's discovered that the best way to get Zachary to sleep is to lay the bedspread on the floor and sleep next to him. Works great for Zack, but both of us are terrified of rolling onto him and, to add to the drama, his stuffy nose creates a pretty worrisome snore. Every few hours (or sometimes every hour) he sits up and cries for no apparent reason and will not be consoled until he just falls asleep again. But that's off limits tonight. Three nights in a row is going to set a habit that I'm not up to the challenge of breaking.

To make matters worse, Zack bounds around all day as if he's gotten all the sleep he'll ever need. Yesterday I had to drive him around Pungo to put him to sleep for his afternoon nap... and he woke up as soon as I pulled back into the driveway.

I went out and bought infant motrin to give him tonight instead of Tylenol, hoping it would have a stronger effect. But he's already been up once and it's not even 10pm. That trip to console him, however, revealed that his vaporizer wasn't vaporizing, so I fixed that and hope it will keep his nose from stuffing up too much overnight.

Mike brought home Chessmaster II for the playstation tonight and we played a couple games after dinner. I actually beat him twice!! (Note: this never happens when I play Mike.) He chalks it up to image fuzziness and lack of sleep. But there's hope I can actually win now. In the past, I've only emerged victorious when we play Byzantine chess (on a round board - rooks rule!)

Well, I'm about done in. Everyone go wish Matt a happy birthday today!

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!