Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

November 20, 2003 - 12:15 a.m.

Tired.

Marcus has the croup. I sincerely hope this may be the last night. We had the whole family in our room with us last night. Marcus in the pack-n-play by the bed, Zachary in the middle between us.

Three year olds can take up a lot of space, you know.

I twisted my ankle during the move yesterday. Stealth steps. It's a little swollen but I can get around if I brace it.

Our sofa couldn't make it to the 3rd floor den. We kind of expected that. Now we must choose - recover it or hire someone to take it apart, haul it upstairs, and put it back together again.

The boxspring failed to clear the stairs, too, which surprised us. You'd think modern homes would accommodate moving in a queen sized bed. We ended up taking down part of the banister to get it through the stairwell. Better than sleeping in the kitchen, anyway.

Testing fate by running coax down the hall from the bedroom to the office to connect my cable modem. I bought a wireless router but setting up the internet connection and configuring the router at the same time proved to be nullifying. And the Cox branded version of IE I've been using wouldn't jive with Adelphia's startup program. Cox tries to screw me again... So the wireless router has fallen by the wayside again tonight. What kind of people, I ask you, choose to put a cable outlet in the bedroom rather than the office? What were they thinking? Philistines... We thought about dropping another line through the wall but even foxphotog, fearless man of home improvement, wasn't keen on tackling that once he had a look at the room layout here.

I might have had time to work on the router this evening, but Marcus's baby monitor was picking up the cries of someone else's baby. I wonder if some nearby couple was confused about their child's sudden barking cough. So I had to troubleshoot that a while - with the ridiculous result of simply moving the transmitter to the other side of the room.

Got to love technology.

Must sleep.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!