Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

December 08, 2004 - 8:21 a.m.

Christmas with no packing boxes or notes in our cards that read "our new address is..." Ah! I realized this week that if I were going to avoid shopping malls and retail chains, I would have to get cracking and place some orders. (How did we live before the internet?) love2fly kindly let me take over part of her kitchen table yesterday morning to address and sign Christmas cards, in exchange for setting up the mail merge for her labels. Funny, I used to be able to do that sort of thing in my sleep back when I was an admin. ass. It took some hard concentration to get it done this time.

Now I need to clean up the boxes and rubbermaid containers, emptied of their holiday decorations, and put them up, wrap gifts, get some stamps, stock up on food and we'll be about set... For Christmas anyway. We decided this week that we will be at 12th Night and now I need to try on garb and note what might need to be taken in a bit before then... or if I want the challenge of making something entirely new.

I need to get some new mundane clothes too. I hit my ultimate goal of 105 and now nothing fits right. I feel like a hobo, cinching in my belt to a ridiculous degree and carrying extra folds of fabric all around me. Over Thanksgiving I actually dropped to 100 but I've been more conscious of my eating since then.

Marcus, on the other hand, is already 30 pounds. They weighed him when we took him to the urgent care a week ago Saturday. He'd been wheezing since Thanksgiving Day and it wasn't getting any better. He was a darling the whole time, very cooperative. The diagnosis was that he had a respiratory reaction to something while we were in North Carolina. He's fine now, though it did take a couple more days to get his lungs completely clear.

Zachary is so close to reading. I bought him an activity book with a dry erase pen a while back and it's all he's played with the past few days, writing letters, filling in missing letters of words, and practicing his name. It's wonderful to see him having fun with it. He's learning phonics in preschool and Mike has been teaching him some math, which he considers a big game. I can't believe he's going to be 5 in just a few weeks... Which reminds me that I need to add "planning a birthday" to my to do list.

How did it get to be December so quickly?

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!