Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

February 07, 2005 - 3:43 p.m.

Another University done. We had a bit more improvisation at this one than others and I went home tried and a touch frazzled. Maybe this was obvious from the vaguely disoriented look on my face by the end of the day - no fewer than 4 kind people sought me out to tell me how wonderful their day had been and how much they enjoyed the event. And on Sunday I received an email from a new member of the SCA, thanking the staff and sending appreciation of our organization.

That does make me feel much better.

I had a wonderful time overall and got to see many of my favorite people, including Ilsa who has given me a new catchphrase for the UoA Support Crew. After calmly working with one individual with a serious ineptitude for instructions several minutes, she managed to smile nicely even after said individual threw a catty parting comment of "They really ought to make this simpler!" Ilsa looked at me a quietly asked "I wonder if she knows we're the They?"

Another, completely unrelated, bit of the weekend that still lingers is the sign I saw on Rt 15 as I drove to Mike and Kirsten's on Friday night. Being the granddaughter of a church secretary and a part time church secretary once myself, I tend to look at the marquee signs outside churches. There were several back in Virginia Beach I read on a regular basis and, judging by the similarity of many of the messages over time, I've wondered if there was a book these folks got their ideas from. Or perhaps they just steal from each other. Ironic, but likely. My grandmother assures me there isn't a book.

Anyway-- this one caught my eye and I'm glad I was sitting at a stoplight at the time because the doubletake might have sent me off into the median. It said, and I quote: Got Jesus? Moustache optional.

I have to admit, my first thought was Christ adorned with Davydd's whiskers.

Yeah.

Then I started thinking of Groucho Marx, but got off that mental track as quickly as I could. Was there some intracongregational argument going on about whether Jesus had facial hair... (kind of like debating if smiley faces have noses)? Have recent religious scouting polls shown that potential church members perfer a clean shaven Jesus? And what about the beard? I can recall images of Jesus with no facial hair or images with the full moustache and beard, but never just a moustache... And now my wicked tendancy to free associate has dredged up that Buffet song. I wish I had a pencil thin moustache... One little sign has messed me up for a while. And I still have no clue what it meant.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!