Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-06-15 - 10:48 p.m.

Nothing is easy.
Though time gets you worrying
My friend, it's o.k.

Finally, an offer on the house today. A good offer. Asking price. No irrational demands. The couple who came by last night must have drawn up the contract right afterward and faxed it over to our agent this morning. But the fun doesn't end there.

Just take your life easy
And stop all that hurrying,
Be happy my way.

There was still the "mystery" showing today - "sometime after lunch." Since it was pouring down rain, I wasn't about to go anywhere with child and dog before I had to. In the end, they gave me about 5 minutes warning before coming by and I couldn't find the car keys... Then I discovered I'd left the back "vent" windows open last night. And did I mention it was pouring down rain all day?

When tension starts mounting
And you've lost count
Of the pennies you've missed,
Just try hard and see why they're not worrying me,
They're last on my list.
Nothing's easy.

Mike insisted on driving home to sign the contract rather than have it faxed to him. The buyers wanted a commitment by 6pm. He left Va. Beach at 3:30. And you can't make it here in 2.5 hours on a Friday afternoon in the rain. So our agent called their agent and pleaded for more time while I paced and bit my nails and Zachary fussed because he's old enough to discern when Momma's not happy and he doesn't like it. He's still teething, too. One of the four have cut through.

Nothing is easy, you'll find
That the squeeze won't turn out so bad.
Your fingers may freeze, worse things happen at sea,
There's good times to be had.

After all this, I got a few minutes to drive out and play Jethro Tull very loudly in the minivan. I must admit, this vehicle has the best stereo I've ever owned. Sometime I'm going to have to find time to learn what all the buttons and things do.

There's still an inspection to hurdle, movers to interview, things to pack, finances to get in order. I don't even want to think about timing the phone and power and everything else yet... I just want to play Jethro Tull and take a minute's break to pretend this will all be alright in the end...

So if you're alone and you're down to the bone,
Just give us a play.
You'll smile in a while and discover
That I'll get you happy my way.

Nothing's easy.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!