Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

08-06-2001 - 9:26 p.m.

Ah, it's that time of year again. Everyone's packing off to Pennsic (I can't tell you how much I wanted a Pennsic XXX medallion) and I've begun receiving emails with "University" in the subject header.

We're skipping Pennsic this year for a couple of reasons - first and foremost, the move. There's nothing less inspiring than unpacking all your stuff only to turn around and stuff your car to the gills all over again and drive half a day to the Pennsylvania / Ohio border. Secondly, I wasn't certain I was up to keeping up with a toddler at the war - particularly one who would want to live off chocolate milk and funnel cakes all week.... wait, that's what I live off of at Pennsic... Thirdly, there's a pile of stuff still to be done at the new house, including getting my garbage disposal fixed (which is taking a week and a half for arcane reasons I'll never know) and finishing all the paperwork from the previous University so there won't be a riot in October when there are no degrees to hand out during the 2.71 minutes that we get to hold Convocation after court.

Anyway, things are starting to come together.

  • Mike and I are using our tax rebate to get a Directv dish and the NFL Sunday Ticket. Mike was never very interested in sports until Carolina got a football team. Now that he won't have to spend every Sunday this fall in a sports bar to watch the games, he plans to tape them as he watches at home, rewind, analyze, and discuss them with the rest of the fans on the Panthers bulletin board.... He's been dancing around the living room ever since he got off the phone to order it. I'm just happy that I can watch The O'Reilly Factor again. The local cable company doesn't carry FoxNews.

  • Genie tells me there's no reason to be alarmed about the grocery store handing out "Hurricane Tracking Maps." A local hobby, apparently.

  • Zack splashed in the pool for the first time yesterday. We bought him a little inflatable tugboat in which to ride around (with very close supervision, of course), but he much preferred holding on to Momma. Even Solo got in on the fun and jumped in - the deep end. It was obviously not what he expected. Mike eventually got him out of the pool and Solo graciously shook off over his towel.

  • My new driver's license came in the mail today, so I can go get a library card without the hassle of bringing my mail as proof of residency. Woo-hoo!

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!