Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

08-01-2001 - 10:31 p.m.

Greetings from Virginia Beach.

Well, we made it - with much thanks to Genie and Jeremy, who puppysat for us over the weekend. Solo is probably making the hardest transition. He keeps looking at me with a "I don't know where to pee!" look on his face and until today hadn't eaten enough to necessitate the evening walk. But he's sleeping at night, which is better than Zack. I think he wakes up and doesn't recognize where he is. Until last week, a night waking involved a diaper change or a cup of something cold to numb his gums. Now it's a full psychotherapy session.

Unpacking is going slowly, but progressing. The movers broke a few items, including our computer desk (irreparably) and a bowl from Dancing Pig pottery (which shouldn't have been on the truck anyway) and they damaged my son's crib. Fortunately it's still serviceable, but since it's one of those crib/ toddler bed/ twin bed conversion pieces, I want it fixed. So as soon as I finish this entry, I get to conclude my 30th birthday by working on a claim form.

Yep. I'm 30 today. After this move, I really feel it, too. My parents brought my Grandmother down to visit this afternoon, took me out for a banana split, and gave me a very spiff gift - book steps! It's a 14" high set of two steps that are hinged on top and hollow on the inside to store books! And, just to go inside, my husband gave me one of the volumes from the Longman History of Russia series for which I had been searching for a while. And a new pillow. My old one that I had for as long as I can remember disintegrated a while back and I haven't had a decent night's sleep since - even on the nights Zack sleeps through. I'm looking forward to it tonight. :) And, in lieu of bithday cake, which I really shouldn't eat after that banana split this afternoon, he brought home steamed crab legs for dinner - my favorite things.

[burp!] 'scuse me :)

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!