Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

September 11, 2001 - 12:22 p.m.

A few years ago, Tom Clancy created a plot scenario to put Jack Ryan in the White House. It involved most of the United States government being killed during a joint session of Congress when an airplane crashed into the Capitol. After all - how do you stop a plane once it's already on a collision course?

When my friend Shannon called me this morning and told me the WTC and the Pentagon had been hit by hijacked airplanes, I thought it was a dark joke - except for the catch in her voice. Her husband is a cameraman for a DC news affiliate and had already been sent out to work. I watched the towers of the World Trade Center collapse on television. My husband (turning back from a trip to Maryland this morning) debated over the phone on whether or not Zack and I should get out of the Norfolk area. Although overnight bags are packed and in the foyer, I've decided I'm better off staying home than on I-64 today. The airports are closed. Amtrak is closed. Greyhound buses have cancelled all north-bound routes. There's bound to be extra traffic out there and people with their minds on other things than the road.

Dan Rather is poking criticisms at President Bush for being in the air and evacuating the west wing, noting that the Clinton did no such thing in the wake of Oklahoma City. He forgets that under the Clinton admin, someone landed a plane on the White House lawn. Obviously, there is a threat. I think Bush made the right call.

What suprises me is the lack of any groups jumping up and down to claim responsibility, even falsely.

Back to the news....

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!