Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

October 15, 2001 - 12:38 p.m.

Wow :) Thanks Steven for the kind comments in the guestbook!

Although I ought to devote more time to this today, we had a very busy weekend and I have many things to do at home today to catch up on unpacking and the usual daily grind.

This past weekend was the annual Kingdom Crusades, one of my favorite events of the year. It's like Pennsic, but smaller, cooler, and shorter. And I'm fated to never arrive on site before sunset, which always results in stumbling around in the dark to find the cabin and all my friends - particularly this year.

Aradd is a knight!

Keeping the secret for three weeks has been top priority, and Aradd didn't make it easy. Friday evening, when the super-secret new vigil tent was being set up on the field and old friends from as far as Georgia and Oklahoma were arriving, he was supposed to be in meetings for the Order of St. Aiden, but ended up wandering around looking for others supposed to be in that meeting. And here are the rest of us, carrying around suspicious paraphernalia for the vigil (lanterns, food, a pitcher full of ice water) stumbling around in the dark (as before mentioned) and running the risk of bumping into the soon-to-be-knighted Aradd who had no idea any of this was going on.

But it all went off splendidly and I have a roll of film to drop off at the one hour photo this afternoon so we can scan some images into the computer tonight. If we can get the scanner working, which is another story...

Zachary spent the weekend with his grandparents, who spoiled him rotten and let him watch Pooh videos all day. But he can be pretty demanding about Pooh. He's not even two and refusal to play a Pooh video can result in a lay-in-the-floor-and-wail temper tantrum. I'm building an immunity to such tactics, but it's getting difficult to take him out in public. We went to the grocery store on Thursday to stock up for the weekend so my parents wouldn't have to order in (much). Zack won't ride in the front of the cart anymore. He wants to walk ("Go walk!") but won't stay with the cart when he does. So my only recourse is to ignore the little pictograms of what not to do and put him in the basket of the cart. This has worked alright until lately - he invented a new game of "Throw Things Out of the Cart." I regularly bring home dented boxes of pasta and squished loaves of bread. When he tossed a glass jar of spaghetti sauce in the middle of the dairy aisle on Thursday, however, I decided I'm going to have to shop at night or on the weekends from now on.

Boy, did I ramble on too long.... Still much to do while the boy is at least quiet. I can hear him kicking the crib, so I know he's not sleeping...

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!