Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

October 19, 2001 - 2:02 p.m.

Thanks for the Pooh video offer, Steven, I might take you up on that.

Personally, I dislike Elmo - almost as much as Barney, which I have carefully avoided Zack from watching. Sesame Street is part of his daily tv time- that morning hour when neither of us are really awake yet. We sit on the sofa, I drink my coffee, he has his juice, and watch Elmo.

Sesame Street is really the Elmo Show now.

Elmo has a full quarter of the program now for "Elmo's World." Elmo talks in a very high-pitched voice and always refers to himself in third person. He's sort of the Bob Dole of muppets. And he gets daily email from his friends: Zoe, Telle, Baby Bear - all of whom are little monsters, too, and talk in infant accents. Baby Bear is the worst, with his lisp that turns all his l's and r's to w's.

From time to time, Bert and Ernie appear on Sesame Street. Or the Count. Or Grover. Sometimes Cookie Monster. Big Bird, Oscar, and Snuffy are still regulars, but definitely take second billing now. I have yet to see the Twiddle Bugs. :( Rubber Duckie gets as much time on the air as Ernie - even duet with Little Richard. It's like what happened to Saturday Morning Cartoons in the 80's when the muppets became babies and Scooby Doo was regressed into a pup. Ugh!

Ah well. Things change. I'm looking forward to watching Between the Lions with Zack when he gets a little older. It's a lot like the Electric Company, which seems to be off the air now. Remember the Electric Company (Hey, you guys!)?

Zack discovered cheese slices this week and can't get enough of them, although he's sharing a good portion of them with the dog and Turtle (a bath toy he carries around with him). Turtle and Duck also get their teeth brushed every night when Zack is finished brushing his own. Very cute.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!