Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

September 12, 2003 - 11:41 a.m.

  1. Is the name you have now the same name that's on your birth certificate? If not, what's changed?
    My given name is still the same. After my marriage I followed the family (southern) tradition of taking my maiden name as my middle name and adopting my husband's surname. So I don't use my given middle name (which was my mother's maiden name) anymore.

    Anybody else have to read that twice?

  2. If you could change your name (first, middle and/or last), what would it be?
    I don't have any problems with my name. I've used a diminutive nickname since I was 5 and learning to write. It occurred to me that spelling out 3 letters was much easier than the full 8 and, in spite of an attempt in high school to return to my full name, it has stuck with me.

  3. Why were you named what you were? (Is there a story behind it? Who specifically was responsible for naming you?)
    I was named for an ancestor on my mother's side of the family - a lady who came to Virginia from England in the mid 1600's with her family. That was primarily my mother's doing. My father wanted to name me for his much beloved grandmother, Hester, but my mother refused. My mother wanted to name me "Wendy Sue" but my father said that sounded like a stripper.

  4. Are there any names you really hate or love? What are they and why?
    I love classical names. It's a pity names like Horatio and Atticus aren't popular. Names I dislike are generally linked to people I've known and remember less than fondly.

  5. Is the analysis of your name at kabalarians.com accurate? How or how isn't it?
    Well, let's see...

    The name of S-- creates an overly-sensitive nature which causes you to sense and feel far more than you can understand or put into words. You have a deep, artistic, and creative side which shows through a love for music and literature. Writing is a more natural mode of expression for your deeper thoughts and feelings than the spoken word. You have an ability to concentrate and work intently on anything which holds your interest. However, you prefer to avoid routine, monotony, and mental tasks. You enjoy the out-of-doors and find your greatest peace and relaxation from the beauty and harmony of nature. You prefer to limit your friendships and associations to those who share your interests and appreciate your quiet, refined ways. Others often find it difficult to understand you. Your feelings tend to build up within you and, if you cannot release them through a creative, constructive channel, you could suffer with frustration, moods, and much inner turmoil.

    Some of it fits, some of it doesn't. I don't mind mental tasks. I enjoy the beauty of nature but I'd rather be in a used book store or library. And I might be sensitive, but "overly?"

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!