Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

December 27, 2003 - 11:09 a.m.

I am amused by my new neighbors. There is another row of townhomes directly facing ours and Christmas night I noticed the one with the brightly lit tree in one window and an even brighter nativity in the other. The next afternoon, it, as well as the wreath on their door and other decorations, were all gone. Christmas Day has ended - pack it all away.

I can see their motivation. After looking at it all in anticipation for nearly a month, looking at it some more until Epiphany seems wearisome. There is wisdom in my Mother's old family tradition of putting up the tree on Christmas Eve - a tradition of her childhood, not mine. My sister and I would worry my parents from December 1st until the day they gave in and brought the boxes down from the attic. But a Christmas season from December 25 to January 7 would be nice - well defined, kicked off with a great feast and gifts rather than ending with them. Now it all just kind of drags on until we decide to pack everything away.

Our first Christmas in our new home was rather nice. My sister drove down from New Jersey and took over the kitchen for me. We cooked on Christmas Eve. We cooked on Christmas Morning. Carole has instilled a useful habit in herself of washing everything immediately rather than filling the sink and then washing so we never ran out of cookware, utensils, or plates.

My parents brought Grandmommy with them and a car loaded with presents. I remember my grandparents arriving on Christmas morning with a large shopping bag of gifts. Mom and Dad had 3 Ukrops bins. Just a little overboard.

In past years it has taken a long time to unwrap gifts because Zachary wanted to play with each one and lost interest in opening new ones. This year, however, he couldn't get enough of ripping wrapping paper and we had to keep a close eye on him lest he unwrap everyone's gifts, not only his own. Marcus was less inclined to seek out new things to unwrap but happily tore into anything handed him. (Then came the fun of getting the toys out of the boxes. Fisher Price loves wire and tape.)

In all the chaos, I'm still not exactly sure who what to Zack and Marcus. Thank you notes are going to be a little ambiguous this year...

I missed my Granddaddy this year. A few weeks from now will mark the end of his 3rd year in managed care. He did not know me last time we visited, a week ago. And one of the nurses on staff has already warned us that if he gets sick this winter he may not be able to overcome it.

Aunt Agnes, my great-grandmother's youngest sister, has moved into the same home now. She's in a much earlier stage of dementia and recalled who I was although she didn't recognize me at first. I've promised her I will visit when I come by to see Granddaddy.

To add to catalog, the father of my oldest friend has been diagnosed with cancer. He's in his early 70's and surgery is not an option - only radiation.

Bleak, bleak winter.

I did not intend to end this entry on such a thought, but Marcus is waking from his nap, it's nearly lunchtime, and there's much to do today.

Merry Christmas to everyone.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!