Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

January 26, 2004 - 11:28 a.m.

Snow, snow, snow, snow, snow. We turned away the young entrepreneur this morning who always comes by to clear our porch and walk for $5. No cash on hand. I intended to ask Mike to stop by the ATM on his way from work yesterday (yes - working on a Sunday... you can put that to a perky Devo tune but it still sucks) but I forgot. So I swept the porch and steps myself and left the walk to the community snowblower person. There are perks to townhome life. Mike took care of the yard between the back door and the garage and getting his car out of the drive.

I, on the other hand, don't intend to go anywhere.

I'm a southern girl. In Richmond it seems to be the prevailing belief that snow is so occasional and brief that learning to drive in it is unnecessary. I managed to get home in the icestorm in January 1994 when all the secondary roads looked like polished black glass, but that's only because my manager at Books a Million wouldn't close up the store and let us go home. 1 am on black ice, repeatedly sliding past the driveway. Not fun.

I ran to the store last night for diapers, cereal bars, baking soda, and life's other essentials. There was quite a crowd. But Northern Virginia does not seem to participate in Richmond's other great snow tradition - The French Bread Conspiracy ™.. There was plenty of milk, bread, and eggs on the shelves. The beer aisle was looking a little thin, though. We rented "Johnny English," which had a few funny parts but overall was a disappointment. Blah. Mike will have to return it because I'm not leaving the house, especially when the precipitation turns to freezing rain. Nope. Not going anywhere. No way.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!