Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

February 10, 2004 - 10:47 p.m.

I am beat. Just beat.

I collapsed on the bed after putting the boys into theirs tonight and calculated that I'd been moving almost non stop since Friday... or maybe Thursday. I can't remember which day I started packing for the weekend. There was laundry to be done sometime. And Friday night we drove to Richmond to take the boys to my parents' house for Saturday while Mike and I went to University in Courtland - together at a University for the first time in over a year - for the last time for a great while. I'm the Chancellor now. Woot! Maybe I should have changed my SCA surname to Moriarty instead of Baskervylle...

Saturday night wasn't so good. After being up since 5 am, the boys wouldn't let us sleep. Zack was itchy and Marcus was cranky and they kept waking each other up. Mike and I got a couple hours of sleep between us.

Sunday we dashed home and I cleaned like mad before my parents arrived. They stayed the night to watch the boys Monday morning when I stayed with Mike, or at least in the same building with Mike, while he underwent surgery on his shoulder and elbow. Brought him home to rest, fed everyone lunch, sent my parents on their way home. It was War Forum night again in Richmond. I usually take Dad so Mom doesn't have to endure it. This year, though, Mom has filled in for me 5 months out of 6. When Zack starts school in '06, I won't be able to go anymore at all. But the topic this month was dull anyway - no great loss.

The boys wouldn't sleep last night - Zachary's eczema was acting up and Marcus has a cold and a cough. Up and down the stairs I go. Up and down the stairs. Trying to settle a fussy 19 month old while talking to the exchequer of the hosting group from Saturday on the phone... Trying to get Zachary to go to sleep in between trying to do anything else.

Today I ran interference to keep the boys out of our bedroom so Mike could rest. Zachary understands being gentle with Daddy because he has a boo boo. Marcus doesn't. They both wanted to jump on the bed. Marcus is cutting another tooth and was still fussy and cranky most of the day. He didn't like being left with Aunt Shannon while Mommy took Daddy back to the doctor for his post operative checkup. Mike got a thumbs up at the surgeon's office and we picked up the boys and headed home, making a little shopping list - water proof bandaids... more water proof bandaids... and I tried to get Marcus to take a nap. No luck. That made getting them ready to go shopping for the aforementioned list even more fun. The child doesn't like to put on his coat when he's in a good mood. You can imagine what it's like when he's teething.

Damn, I should have bought some popsicles while I was out.

I brought the boys home, made dinner, fed them, bathed them, put them in bed. Tonight, so far, they've stayed there. I napped for 90 minutes before dragging myself back downstairs to get the bandaids and other stuff I bought (Lime Diet Coke? Why not?) out of the car, answer a few emails, and kvetch on my diary.

Now I'm going back to sleep.

I hope.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!