Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

March 03, 2004 - 10:17 p.m.

I didn't drive down to Richmond for the labyrinth walk on Monday. I'm going to be back and forth a few times in the next couple of weeks and decided not to add another trip. There's a Lutheran church not far from here with a canvas Chartres labyrinth. I just have to wait until the end of March for it to be available to the public.

Blech.

Lent is not feeling like much of a journey this year. I've been reading a bit every day, but that's about all. The soup and bread meal I proposed to the gang up here didn't work out as planned. But I should let love2fly tell you about that one. It was her trip to the emergency room, after all. And I intended to start waking up earlier in the morning to have some quiet meditative time - but after nightly interrupted sleep, I haven't had the willpower to do it.

Zack hasn't been letting us sleep much lately. Strange - he slept so well as a baby and even when we moved him into his toddler bed he generally stayed there. In the past few months, however, and especially in recent weeks, he refuses to stay in his room at night. We're having a difficult time pinning down a cause other than a vague "monster under the bed" sort of thing. The night after I washed his bedding was particularly memorable. Since Zachary's eczema acts up if I use fabric softener, his blankets and one particular set of pajamas can get pretty clingy. That night they were audibly popping. Sometime in the wee hours of the morning this woke Zachary up and completely terrified him. He ran screaming into our room, trying to get his pajama shirt off while dashing around in circles, crying hysterically. It took a while to settle him after that one. We changed his clothes and I've retired those pj's.

Otherwise, my boys continue to be cute. Zachary has been having a marvelous time making shapes with his hands. He steeples his fingers, puts his thumbs together, and says "Look Mommy! A triangle!" Marcus, the mimic, attempts to copy Zack. "Mommy! Tangle!" But Zachary has already moved on to a square. When I try to join the game Zack applauds my circle and immediately begins making requests. "Make an octagon, Mommy!"

Marcus seems to have picked up on shapes and numbers overnight. All of the sudden he's started bringing puzzle pieces to me to name them for me.

They are both through the illness that hit our family a couple weeks ago.. but now runny noses have begun again. At least the weather is improving. I can take them outside and run them around in the afternoon, open the windows and get some fresh air in the house, turn off the furnace, think about spring cleaning, think about unpacking the last of the moving boxes... Sometime.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!