Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

May 03, 2004 - 12:38 p.m.

Not a good week.

It began a week ago Saturday with a flat tire. It ended today at Marcus's pediatrician's office.

The flat tire story is a little boring - northbound on I95 with the boys, run over a nail someone carelessly left in the road, tire goes flat, curse a lot, call AAA. Then I got the joy of the followup trip to the mechanic. There are times I wish I were still 17 and could just hand my car keys over to Dad...

Other slings and arrows of outrageous karma hit over the week. (My phone charger was snug behind the coffee maker... and I have no idea why. Still trying to decide who won the cake.) And then on Saturday, while Mike was away at crown, Marcus developed an allergy to spring.

As the weather was nice, I had spent a great deal of time outdoors with the boys. My primary health concern until today was making certain they were properly coated with sunblock. On Saturday we went for morning walk to the store for doughnuts and then over to Jason and Shannon's for an afternoon of playing in the yard.

And that's when Marcus's eyelids started swelling.

It was late enough in the afternoon that the pediatric office was already closed for the day but the doc on call gave me a dosage for children's benedryl. It helped but the swelling never entirely abated. Poor baby boy was teary and puffy and had me more and more worried by the hour. I barely slept at all Saturday night because I constantly felt the urge to check on him and eventually just moved him into the playpen in my room.

I called the pediatrician first thing this morning and, after being vetted by the nurse, brought him in. Apparently, it's unusual for a child under 2 to develop seasonal allergies - and a little concerning. The next few years may get worse and I shudder to think about "worse" than his swollen eyes on Saturday...

Have to get back to the CVS to pick up his perscriptions (he's rivaling Zack now) and a bottle of liquid claratin...

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!