Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

May 07, 2004 - 7:31 a.m.

I am definitely not feeling myself.

Yesterday I began the planning stages of packing for the weekend - is everything clean, are we out of any important stuff, etc. - and I looked over the 3 or 4 dresses I have in the closet and decided that none of them were quite right for an outdoor wedding in May. I'm a little old fashioned and dislike wearing black to weddings. Yes, I know it's chic and probably ok, but I still have a personal aversion to it - and, besides, who wants to sit outside in the sun in a black dress?

So I went shopping.

I have an aversion to shopping, too, but it is apparently outweighed by the one to black dresses at outdoor weddings. Stuff just doesn't fit me well. Petite sizes are difficult to find, narrow width shoes are even more of a challenge, and I balk at anything over $45. I'm also at an odd size right now - kind of in-between a 4 and a 6. Kohl's had absolutely nothing in a 4 but I managed to find a couple of 6s to try and one looked rather nice. Then I had the bizarre urge to find some shoes for it. I may regret that on Saturday as there were no narrows that I could find and I bought a half size smaller so they wouldn't fall off my feet. I may be limping at the wedding reception... (note to self, pack the old pumps just in case...)

After all that, I ran over to see love2fly to show her the new outfit. I felt a little silly about it. I haven't palled around with a girl since college really so there hasn't been a reason in the past decade or so to do this sort of thing. I like my guy friends but rushing over to get puck-eater's opinion on a new dress and sandals seems... odd. Nor can I imagine discussing lipstick shades with bhawk. Girl stuff is often still terra incognita for me.

This madness has stopped short of any impulse to paint my nails, though. Thank God :)

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!