Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

August 17, 2004 - 9:02 a.m.

Home already...

Zachary's eczema flared up over the weekend and Mike and I decided that it might be better to take him home where he could heal up under more sanitary conditions than Pennsic. He absolutely did not want to leave and cried most of the way home. He went to bed last night asking to go back to camping and woke up this morning with the same request.

The boys did well. Since the weather was so cool, they could play in the pavilion. They liked to walk down to Cooper's Store and the playground. They didn't really fuss or complain about anything except going to bed at night. And they were not happy about leaving. They were even less happy about leaving their Daddy, who has been gearing up for Pennsic for months and will probably have an easier time there without us anyway.

I think I spent more shopping at Pennsic this year than the 4 trips combined. I bought new shoes, a new (smaller) basket, Colin and I exchanged poesy rings for our anniversary, a three man morris game for the boys, and if I had not left I would have gone back to Black Swan for one of those great wool hats! I should have bought some buttons for the red cotehardie I'm making but just didn't see any I really had to have. Now I just need to finish some stockings and I'll have a complete 14th century outfit! I'm quite excited about that.

I know, in comparison, I really didn't spend as much as others have or could at Pennsic. But to me, $75 for a pair of shoes is quite expensive. I even balked at a copy of Life in Chaucer's England for the same price. (And good thing I did - I've found it online for much less this morning. Now the debate on to buy or not to buy...)

Now I have to go buy groceries, clean up the mess we left last week when packing up, and do some laundry...

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!