Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

August 18, 2004 - 9:27 a.m.

Did I mention that I got to try target archery at Pennsic this year? genvieve and I were up at dawn on Saturday morning for our lesson. And I mean dawn. We watched the sunrise over Pennsic while we waited for our instructor... who overslept. The wait was worth it, though.

One thing is for certain. I am not a natural talent. The road to competence is going to be long and arduous. But, in spite of the fact that I never once came near the target, I enjoyed myself. Target archery seems to be a very contemplative sport. Everything with posture, breathing, and the quiet morning on a hill over the camp spoke to me. Twice it said OW! when the bow string snapped into my arm but the rest of the time it was a more favorable conversation.

Much to learn. Once the war is over I need to get in contact with some people here in the barony who might have loaner equipment and information on when they practice.

Woot!

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!