Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

October 27, 2004 - 10:49 a.m.

Well I had a great entry written up on my trip to NY... and Netscape crashed. So you're getting the summary... which is probably better anyway.

Flights to and from were uneventful. This was my first trip through security post 9/11 and I must admit watching all of us walking though the metal detectors in sock feet was a little amusing. I was pegged for the random security check (and quite thankful that I was very early for my flight) which wasn't much, really. They didn't even mess up my carryon.

My sister picked me up in Newark and we got coffee and a doughnut and headed on into the city. She lived in Greenwich 6 or 7 years ago and the street parking there was always good. No longer. The area has become much more upscale. It was a little sad. There used to be a handful of second hand bookshops that I always intended to go back and check out. They've all become boutiques.

After we finally found a parking space, we wandered around a while, killing time before our dinner reservation. We caught the subway to Times Square, where we were suddenly reminded of what happens in New York just before an election. Demonstrations everywhere. It was also cold. No sunshine and the wind downtown was biting. We walked through a few areas adjacent to the demonstrations that were packed with vendors and debated on whether or not to buy a couple of scarves.

I was hoping to visit the Met, but there really wasn't enough time. I did get to the New York Public Library, though, and Carole was kind enough to take my picture with her camera phone by one of the lions. I'm ashamed to admit that I don't know if I'm sitting by Patience or by Fortitude... but I was there, at least.

After dinner, we went to see The Blue Man Group, which was awesome. Carole was hoping that I'd be pulled up on stage but no. The 7 year old sitting beside me was terrified every time the actors came into the audience. I think his mother was concerned that he kept choosing my lap to climb into instead of hers. But he and I had a long conversation before curtain about the theater and all the tubes and toilet paper on the ceiling, so he obviously thought me safe. Besides - I was farther in from the aisle. And then we returned to Greenwich to visit a bar on the location of a prohibition era speakeasy. It was a lot of fun - no sign out front and the door was covered to prevent the light inside from spilling into the street. But it was packed to capacity and I was getting claustrophobic. (Imagine being pressed into a crowd of people all 10-12 inches taller than you. It's kind of like being in an oppressively warm canyon.) We drank one ale each and left, much to my dismay because I wanted to check out all the black and white photos of literary figures on the walls and the framed dustjackets. (And I'm starting to think that I'd really like to get a portrait done like that... anyone have a recommendation for a photographer around here?)

We talked about going to see the Statue of Liberty on Sunday, unaware that we should have bought passes in advance. Some are available there but it was gray and cold again on Sunday and neither of us really wanted to drive out to Liberty Park on a maybe. So we went to a movie and burned some Lyle Lovett cds for me to take home, ate an early dinner and I went back to the airport.

My boys were all very happy to see me. Yesterday, in what I fear is the only day of sunshine we'll have for a while, Zack and Marcus picked flowers for me out of the backyard from the wayward chrysanthemums growing out from beneath the landscaping rocks inadvertently put on top of them last spring. Yellow, too, which is one of my favorite colors in flowers. Today is gray again.

svsv
A headless skeleton! Wait a minute, you did not
need that body to begin with. You are good and
well off on your own. You can take care of
yourself. You seem to be one who is 'detached'
from society and doing what you think are good
or right things. No, you are not one of those
people who think that they can do whatever they
want. You just do not follow 'everydayness' and
common beliefs and norms. If you are not doing
so now, you plan on living alone one day, away
from everyone so that you can be at peace with
yourself and surroundings. You do not dislike
everyone. You only like to be in a serene
atmosphere. Despite all of this, you still
enjoy being in touch with close people. You are
a different and interesting person, you are.
Happy Halloween, Detached Figure.

What Halloween Figure Are You? (MANY RESULTS WITH SIX ALL NEW ONES!!)
brought to you by Quizilla

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!