Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

September 05, 2001 - 10:43 p.m.

Look what I found!

It was sitting on the shelf at the drug store in Sycamore Square, along with a couple pull toys (the old kind that quack and chime without AA assistance) and I had to buy it. Nevermind that Zack has no clue about rotary phones (the last time I remember using one was back in elementary school sometime). It rings and whirrs and the eyes roll up and down as he pulls it along. He loves it. "Eyes!" he exclaims, poking a finger in one. Better than in mine, I suppose.

Zack has learned the words "up" and "down" and knows what they mean, too. He was so cute today - bobbing around the living room chanting "Up! Down! Up! Down!" I think he's going to grow up to be an aerobics instructor...


I was mistaken for Gen on the phone today. Odd. I wouldn't have expected that. I must have been experiencing a moment of extreme effervescence. :-)


And speaking of SCAdian influences, I felt very Corby-like today when I noticed a commercial for the latest Bob Dylan album which features him playing cards with a group of odd looking people. The guy dealing the cards is Ricky Jay!

Corby lent me a New Yorker magazine a few years ago that included an article on Ricky Jay and his experience as a librarian over a collection of rare magic books. The books were later bought by David Copperfield and Jay was not kept on staff. Fleeting time in paradise. Anyway - ever since I read that article, Ricky Jay keeps popping up in movies and commercials and I get to point and say "Hey! That's Ricky Jay!" and feel like Corby dropping an obscure reference. When we saw Mystery Men, I was the only person in the theatre to laugh at his line "I'm a publicist, not a magician!"

I guess I'm irreversibly warped now...

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!