Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

February 16, 2004 - 11:42 a.m.

I've still got it.

Mike returned yesterday to regale me on the weekend of Ymir, travel tales to and fro, etc. And along the way he told me about a challenge puck-eater's brother and roomie gave them to name all 10 Commandments. There's a story behind that, too, but I wasn't there so I won't even try to explain it. The boys ended up having to look it up online and Mike wanted to know if I could do it from memory.

I tried a couple of times, but kept coming up with only 9. After a few minutes of frustration, I gave up. "Which one am I missing?"

"I don't know," Mike shrugged and opened his laptop. "But I bet I can look it up on Google before you can in the Bible."

I was ready to concede defeat on that one - modern technology vs walking over to my library to fetch a Bible. I lost a few seconds in indecision over which one to use, too. By the time I came back, flipping through Exodus, I assumed Mike would already have the answer. But it seems that typing "Ten Commandments" and clicking the "I Feel Lucky" button do not get you the 10 Commandments. So Mike was weeding through the 10 Commandments of this and the 10 Commandments of that while I went into Southern Baptist Bible Drill mode and read them off.

I had forgotten the one about taking the Lord's name in vain. How did I miss that one, goddammit...?

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!