Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

December 21, 2004 - 1:20 p.m.

Nearly ready. I've been giftwrapping things as they arrive in the mail this week (after my visit to Costco with love2fly earlier this month, I decided to stay the hell out of stores as much as possible) and stashing them away from curious little hands. All that's left is to send a few things that Mike brought home last night. And 5 days before Christmas is pretty early for him. Over the past 12 years I've managed to pull him away from his old habits of going to the mall on Christmas Eve, at least.

We took the boys to Manassas last week for the Christmas light show at the park there. Zachary was peeved that he had to stay in the car as we drove through it, but we all enjoyed it. I particularly liked "The Enchanted Forest," which doesn't have so much to do with Christmas. It was filled with fairies, castles, and a knight in armor fighting dragon - fighting 2 sword no less! That's guts. And there was an extraordinarily large fox intimidating an elf. Mike got a kick out of the happy space aliens in Santa caps around a city skyline. "Christmas Invasion." The rest of it was much more seasonal, especially compared to the drive back in Virginia Beach that was heavily populated with mermaids and seahorses.

I think I have all the groceries I'll need for Christmas dinner, except a couple fresh vegetables to steam. My mother is bringing the turkey. My sister has the sweet potato casserole. I'm making the corn pudding. The rest gets thrown together Saturday morning. Cake.

(Yeah, we'll see about that after assisting old Santa with the Hot Wheels racing set at midnight on Friday... Note to self: Cookies for Santa... have to make cookies.)

Other than cleaning the only other thing on my to do list is to make that optometrist appointment. My right eye has been getting weaker for a while now. This weekend hit me with a rain headache and the vision in that eye went quite blurry for a while. Extra sleep and the front passing through helped and it's back to normal now. But after checking webmd and learning all the hideous possibilities, I think I'm going to get my eyes checked, just to be sure.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!